Friday Jamboree: Optimism, Writing & Passion!

Hello, and happy Friday! I hope you all enjoyed your Fourth of July festivities
on Wednesday as much as I did. My week has been full of work, work, work, but luckily I’ve been doing a lot more for the paper – writing articles, obituaries, briefs, using Photoshop for photos and even copy-editing for the magazine – and earning some more hours at Subway. I’ve been plugging along through the summer.

Just the other day, I decided I’d set goals for myself. Some of the goals have to do with personal to-do lists (I need to arrange two songs, read lots of books, etc.) but probably my most important goal is to stick to a consistent schedule for this blog. I’ll be making at the most two posts every week, including Friday Jamboree. I won’t let you readers down with top content! If you have any ideas for blog content, or if you want me to interview you or anyone else for an interesting blog article, don’t hesitate to contact me!

Awesome friday links:

    • Optimism isn’t only about seeing the glass half empty. It’s also about acting on your dreams and inspiring yourself to do greater things according to Jane E. Brody of the New York Times. Those who sit idly and let life pass them by are probably pessimistic. So why not make optimism work for you?
    • Here are some great blogging tips from Mandi of Making Nice in the Midwest. Just found her blog, and this blogging wisdom was exactly what I needed to hear!
    • A graph of the top 10 most read books in the world shows Harry Potter as #3! Yay, Harry!
    • I love this letter that Katrina Labra wrote to her college age self. I’ve done most of those already, though not all. Maybe I should share the letter I wrote to my future self when I was sixteen…
    • Gala Darling always writes the best articles. In her latest, she shows you how to thrive by being the best possible version of yourself. Hint: self-actualization is key.
    • Where Does Love Go When It Dies is probably the best Thought Catalog post I’ve read in a long time. Thought-provoking, true, and beautiful. I think you’ll agree.
    • Jeff Goins writes about what Mumford and Sons taught him about writing. Mumford and Sons is one of my favorite bands (they sold out in Providence after 24 hours, so I can’t see them this summer!), so this was very interesting to me. Props!
    • Filling out college applications was the bane of my existence junior and senior year. Now, I remember having to convey a particular passion – in my case, writing – in each application. Did you have a passion, or did your search for one eat up your time? The Time article linked to above talks about the pressure of college applications.
    • I just recently found The Middle Finger Project and have been combing through Ash’s blog posts ever since. My favorite so far is Live Alive, Not Just A Life: Guidelines for Rebelling Against Reality. Love her writing style, and this is all really great advice!
    • Lastly, New York Times writer Tim Kreider wrote about busyness last week, and the article has garnered a lot of interest on the Internet. What do you think? Are you busy for the sake of it? Check out this quote:

      “Busyness serves as a kind of existential reassurance, a hedge against emptiness; obviously your life cannot possibly be silly or trivial or meaningless if you are so busy, completely booked, in demand every hour of the day.”

Have a great weekend, and enjoy this funny video I found on Youtube!

Reply

